Shock and Awe

How does everybody sleep at night

When outside your door is genocide

Children running around with guns

Never ending Wars that can’t be won

I rest my head and the thoughts begin

Memories of a life of sin

Debauchery safe behind the grandest gates

Overdose in millionaire’s estates

Pardon me if the words of hope

Have slipped away like a bar of soap

A snow flake that is falling fast

Marriages that could never last

I’ve reached a point of disbelief

Now that enough of you seem to be listening

Time to drop the truth like we drop the bombs

My own little show of shock and awe

You ever seen an innocent child die

Sat and watched as their parents cry

Mass slaughtering in Syria

Jesus must have moved to Suburbia

Don’t get mad I wont knock your faith

I simply wish we could all relate

Come to terms with the simple fact

We all are ONE and its time to act

American media distorts the truth

Murdoch and Turner paint the view for you

Flood the waves with celebrity affairs

While our soldiers drowned in PTSD despair

3 million kids on meds for ADHD

Pharmaceutical drug lords are flourishing

While our public schools are crumbling

Teachers forced to live in poverty

I wish there was more that I could do

For now I’ll do my best to write these words for you

Maybe it could spark a flame

Light a fire that could change the game

1 thought on “Shock and Awe

Leave a comment